35.1 C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024

ISRO presented with ‘Indian of the Year Award’ for 2023

IndiaISRO presented with 'Indian of the Year Award' for 2023

In a glittering ceremony held in the capital, Jitendra Singh, Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Science & Technology, bestowed the prestigious “Indian of the Year Award” for 2023 upon the stellar team of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO).

The coveted award, presented in the category of ‘Outstanding Achievement,’ lauds ISRO’s trailblazing efforts in advancing the frontiers of space exploration.

The award ceremony, organized by a leading national TV channel, saw ISRO Chairman S. Somnath and Project Director of Chandrayaan-3, P. Veeramuthuvel, accepting the accolade for their outstanding contributions. The accompanying award citation underscored ISRO’s monumental impact on space exploration, particularly highlighting the historic achievement of Chandrayaan-3’s first-ever soft landing on the Moon’s uncharted South Polar region.

Jitendra Singh, in his brief remarks, emphasized the indigenous and cost-effective nature of Chandrayaan-3, commending its budgetary efficiency at approximately Rs. 600 Crore. He remarked on the significant shift in public engagement with space technology, allowing thousands to witness mega-space events like the Chandrayaan-3 landing and Aditya launch.

“The year 2023 will undoubtedly be etched in the books of history as a period when India’s Space agency demonstrated unparalleled prowess and resilience in the face of challenges,” read the award citation, recognizing ISRO’s exceptional achievements.

Singh highlighted the transformative growth in the Indian space sector, noting that from a single startup a few years ago, India now boasts 190 private space startups. The current financial year has seen these startups collectively invest over Rs. 1,000 crore, marking a substantial pooling of financial and knowledge resources.

In his concluding remarks, Singh spoke of the profound impact of space technology on India’s ascent, aligning with Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision. The “unlocking” of space technology has not only propelled India into the forefront of nations but has also fostered a sense of national pride and ownership in the achievements of ISRO.

The distinguished jury panel for the “Indian of the Year” Awards, comprising iconic figures like Harish Salve, Javed Akhtar, Justice Indu Malhotra, Anju Bobby George, Sanjiv Goenka, and Afroz Shah, recognized and celebrated ISRO’s pivotal role in shaping India’s narrative in space exploration.

The award ceremony marks a testament to India’s increasing prowess in the realm of space technology and its promising trajectory for the future.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles