25.1 C
Sunday, April 14, 2024

ICC announces schedule for 2024 T20 World Cup, India to face Pakistan on June 9

IndiaICC announces schedule for 2024 T20 World Cup, India to face Pakistan on June 9

Cricket enthusiasts worldwide are gearing up for an electrifying encounter as the International Cricket Council (ICC) recently revealed the schedule for the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup.

Adding a new chapter to one of cricket’s oldest rivalries, India is set to face Pakistan on June 9 in New York, promising an intense match that fans eagerly anticipate.

The T20 World Cup is scheduled to commence on June 1, co-hosted by the West Indies and the United States. India finds itself placed in Group A, alongside Ireland, Pakistan, Canada, and the host nation, the US.

A notable feature of the tournament is that ten of the 20 participating teams will play their opening matches in the USA, with 16 contests scheduled in Lauderhill, Dallas, and New York. The much-anticipated clash between India and Pakistan is set to unfold at the new Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in Long Island on June 9.

The inaugural match will see the US taking on Canada on June 1, kicking off the 29-day cricket extravaganza. Meanwhile, the West Indies, the other co-host, will engage Papua New Guinea in Guyana on the second day of group play.

India’s journey in the tournament begins with a match against Ireland on June 5. The highlight for fans will undoubtedly be the encounter against arch-rival Pakistan on June 9. The remaining two group-stage games for India are scheduled against Canada and the USA on June 12 and June 15, respectively.

Unlike the 2022 tournament in Australia, where 16 teams participated, the 2024 T20 World Cup will see the inclusion of 20 teams. The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 8 stage, adding another layer of competitiveness to the event.

The competition will unfold across six venues in the West Indies—Kensington Oval (Barbados), Brian Lara Cricket Academy (Trinidad), Providence Stadium (Guyana), Sir Vivian Richards Stadium (Antigua), Darren Sammy Cricket Ground (St Lucia), and Arnos Vale Stadium (St Vincent). Additionally, three venues in the USA—Eisenhower Park (New York), Lauderhill (Florida), and Grand Prairie (Texas)—will play host to the exhilarating matches.

The Group Stage, spanning from June 1 to June 18, sets the stage for the Super 8 stage scheduled from June 19 to June 24. The semi-finals are set for June 26 and June 27, leading up to the grand finale that will take place on June 29.

In Group B, England and Australia, the last two winners of the Men’s T20 World Cup, will face off against Namibia, Scotland, and Oman. Group C sees the West Indies grouped with New Zealand, Afghanistan, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea, while Group D features South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, and Nepal locking horns.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles