23.1 C
Monday, December 11, 2023

COP 28: Quad Nations focus on localized initiatives for a resilient future

The Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate...

International workshop on Autism assessment with focus on ISAA

The National Institute for the Empowerment of...

Israel’s Netanyahu says he appreciates U.S. position in U.N. Security Council

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu said on...

Nepal, Oman book 2024 T20 World Cup berth after reaching final of Asian qualifiers

AsiaNepal, Oman book 2024 T20 World Cup berth after reaching final of Asian qualifiers

Nepal and Oman have earned their spots in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 after both teams reached the final of the Asia qualifiers hosted by Nepal. In the semifinals, the hosts defeated the United Arab Emirates with an impressive eight-wicket victory, while Oman secured their place in the T20 World Cup by beating Bahrain by 10 wickets.

This marks a historic moment for Nepal as they will make their maiden appearance in the tournament, which is scheduled to be held in the United States of America and the West Indies next year. Additionally, it’s a great achievement for Oman as they will participate in the T20 competition beyond the preliminary stage for the very first time. Eighteen teams have earned their spots in this mega T20 event.

A total of 20 teams are set to compete in what is poised to be the biggest T20 World Cup to date. While hosts West Indies and the USA have automatic berths, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Netherlands, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka qualified by virtue of being the top eight teams in the previous T20 World Cup held in Australia in 2022. Afghanistan and Bangladesh were the next two highest-ranked teams in the format and, as a result, secured their places. Ireland and Scotland have also qualified from the Europe region qualifiers, while Papua New Guinea earned their spot from the East Asia-Pacific region, and Canada qualified from the Americas region.

The T20 World Cup Asia Qualifiers featured eight teams, including some non-associate teams, competing in two groups. The top four teams advanced to the semifinals, with a top-two finish in the qualifiers securing a place in the main World Cup event scheduled to start on June 4 next year.

Additionally, Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Guyana, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad & Tobago will be among the hosting nations for the tournament, with three venues in the USA – Dallas, Florida, and New York – also hosting matches.

The grand finale of the 2024 T20 World Cup is set for June 30, 2024.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles