18.1 C
Thursday, November 30, 2023

Myanmar Junta Chief Says ‘Foreign Experts’ Helping in Offensive Against Military

Myanmar’s junta chief said on Wednesday “foreign...

Global Healthcare Leaders Advance Sector Decarbonisation Ahead of COP28

Business Wire India Industry-first, multi-party agreements in China...

Presidential voting underway by ballots for 15th President of India

IndiaPresidential voting underway by ballots for 15th President of India

Presidential Elections 2022: Voting is underway to choose the 15th President of India held on a ballot paper and not EVMs.

Presidential Elections started on Monday with former Governor and a Tribal, Draupadi Murmu the candidate of the ruling NDA, and former union minister Yashwant Sinha as the Opposition’s pick.

The voting for Presidential polls is held on a ballot paper and not on Electronic Voting Machines and voting is done on basis of proportional representation by means of a single transferable vote. Electors have to mark preferences among the list of candidates. MPs will be given a green ballot while MLAs will get a pink colour ballot.

Nearly 4,800 elected MPs and MLAs will be casting their votes, polling for which is being held at Parliament in Delhi and in all state assemblies between 10 am and 5 pm. Voting is underway in Delhi, Manipur, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, UP, Uttarakhand, Bengal, and Telangana among others.

The President is elected through an electoral college system, where votes are cast by lawmakers – MPs and MLAs. The fixed value of each vote by an MP of the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha is 700.

The vote value of each MLA differs from State to State based on a calculation based on its population vis-a-vis the number of members in its Legislative Assembly. The highest value of votes is carried by MLAs from Uttar Pradesh at 208.

The value of each MLA vote from Maharashtra is 175, for West Bengal, it is 151, while in Mizoram the value is just 8, it is 20 for Goa and the lowest is Sikkim at 7.

The colour coding is for facilitating counting the value of votes of MLAs and MPs which is different. A special pen will be given to candidates to mark their ballots.

Murmu has an advantage over Sinha as over 60 per cent of votes are expected to be cast in her favour, as per the strength of the parties that have extended support to her. She has the support of 44 parties. Besides ruling Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP), Janata Dal-United (JD-U), Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), Apna Dal Sonelal, Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Janata Dal-Secular (JD(S)), Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP), Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), Shiv Sena and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), are among the parties that are supporting Murmu.

Yashwant Sinha has the support of 34 parties including Congress, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Samajwadi Party (SP), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Communist Party of India Marxist (CPI-M), Communist Party of India (CPI), Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), Communist Party of India Marxist–Leninist (CPI-ML), All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) among others.

The counting of votes will be done on July 21. The term of office of President Ram Nath Kovind will end on July 24.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles