31.1 C
Friday, July 12, 2024

BJP lost Ayodhya! Did not win UP Panchayat Elections 2021 including Varanasi

IndiaBJP lost Ayodhya! Did not win UP Panchayat Elections 2021 including Varanasi

In the Uttar Pradesh panchayat poll, BJP loses Ayodhya and Varanasi, Ayodhya; and Miss India runner-up Diksha Singh has lost the Panchayat election from Baskha in Jaunpur district.  It was a stunning defeat because in the past seven years, it is said maximum development work took place in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s constituency.  The BJP maintains a stoic silence on their defeat and the spokesmen refused to comment on the results saying that they would analyze the reasons for the party’s loss.

The Samajwadi Party (SP) has declared a huge victory over the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the Uttar Pradesh panchayat polls. The Samajwadi Party maintained it had won more than half of the posts in district panchayats while alleging the administration was not handing over certificates to its candidates.

Varanasi is Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s parliamentary constituency and he has invested much into his constituency with maximum development done over the past seven years so his loss was astounding.

It is also notable that Varanasi and Ayodhya have been the center points of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath’s development strategies and the two cities are being highly promoted as the hub of religious tourism, the apple of the CM and PM’s eyes so these results leave people flabbergasted wondering what happened.

On the other hand, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in most districts in the Panchayat elections, reports coming in from Varanasi and Ayodhya — the two districts crucial for the party politics in Uttar Pradesh — are not exactly promising.  There are 40 Zila Panchayat seats in Varanasi and the Samajwadi Party has won 15 seats while the BJP could win only 8 seats.

The BSP has won five seats while Apna Dal has won three seats and the Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party has won one seat. Three seats have been won by independents.

In Ayodhya, the Samajwadi Party has won 24 of the 40 Zila Panchayat seats while the BJP could win only six seats. On the remaining 10 seats, the BSP has won five and independents also got five.

BJP-backed candidate Nagina Singh won with a margin of about 5,000 votes.

The runner-up of Femina Miss India 2015, Diksha Singh contested for Zila Panchayat member this time after the seat was reserved for a female candidate and faced defeat even before she could start her political career.  Diksha Singh ranked at the 5th position in the Panchayat elections, polled only 2,000 votes in the name of development.

Diksha Singh, who had come to her hometown in Jaunpur from Mumbai and focused on improving women’s situation in the rural interiors.

Diksha Singh the former runner-up of Femina Miss India 2015.


Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles