32.1 C
Tuesday, July 16, 2024

West Bengal assembly elections first phase of polling begin

IndiaWest Bengal assembly elections first phase of polling begin

West Bengal assembly election held in 30 constituencies across five districts, the first phase of voting commenced.

Kolkata: Voting for the first phase of the assembly election in West Bengal began on Saturday morning in 30 of the state’s 294 constituencies amid elaborate security arrangements.

The polling is being held in 30 constituencies across five districts include Purulia, Paschim Medinipur Part I, Bankura Part I, Purba Medinipur Part I, and Jhargram parts of which form the tribal-dominated Jangalmahal region, once the hotbed of Maoist extremists that has witnessed prolonged bloodbath and power struggle among the key political forces.

The constituencies where polling is being held are 1.Patashpur 2. Kanthi Uttar 3. Bhagabanpur 4. Khejuri (SC) 5. Kanthi Dakshin 6. Ramnagar 7. Egra 8. Dantan 9. Nayagram (ST) 10. Gopiballavpur 11. Jhargram 12. Keshiary (ST) 13. Kharagpur 14. Garbeta 15. Salboni 16. Medinipur 17. Binpur (ST) 18. Bandwan (ST) 19. Balarampur 20. Baghmundi 21. Joypur 22. Purulia 23. Manbazar (ST) 24. Kashipur 25. Para (SC) 26. Raghunathpur (SC) 27. Saltora (SC) 28. Chhatna 29. Ranibandh (ST) 30. Raipur (ST)

In the first phase, about 73 lakh voters that include 37.5 lakh male, and 36.2 lakh female electorates will decide the fate of 191 candidates of which 21(11%) are female candidates.

In phase-1, the BJP is contesting on 29 seats and its ally AJSU, one – Baghmundi seat in Purulia district. TMC is contesting on 29 seats and is supporting an independent candidate from Joypur as the nomination of the TMC candidate Ujjwal Kumar was rejected by the returning officer due to a discrepancy while the Left-Congress-Indian Secular Front (ISF) alliance has put up candidates in all 30 seats

The Election Commission (EC) has extended polling time by 30 minutes for the first phase of West Bengal assembly elections.

The Election Commission deployed 684 companies of CAPF in 10,288 booths spread in about 7,034 premises in five districts in the first phase of polling in West Bengal on March 27, a senior official said.

The official said altogether 144 companies of central forces deployed in Jhargram for the election.

Even those with COVID-19 symptoms like fever can come and vote between 1700 hrs and 1830 hrs, an official said.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles