32.1 C
Tuesday, July 16, 2024

TIrath Singh Rawat, the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand

IndiaTIrath Singh Rawat, the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand has a history of bringing a new Chief Minister with the change of government. Trivedra Singh Rawat, though, worked as the long-serving CM of the state, Tirath Singh Rawat succeeded him as the 10th CM of Uttarakhand

Dehradun: After a meeting, the governor Baby Rani Maurya, Trivendra Singh Rawat resigned on Tuesday as the Chief Minister of Uttrakhand. His resignation came after several complaints from MLAs over his disconnection with the public and his one-man style of governance.

While there were several big names like State Education Minister Dhan Singh Rawat, Union Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Lok Sabha MP Ajay Bhatt, and Anil Baluni who were at the forefront for the post.

Tirath Singh Rawat, who was the Uttarakhand party chief of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) from 9 February 2013 to 31 December 2015 and former member of the Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly from Chaubttakhal constituency from 2012 to 2017 will take the oath today at 4 pm as the new CM of Uttarakhand.

He thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other prominent leaders of BJP, and said with quivering words, “I had never imagined that I would be given such an opportunity, a man like me who comes from a small village and a simple background, I have been trusted with this responsibility and I am overwhelmed.”

Who is Tirath Singh Rawat?

Tirath Singh Rawat began his political career with Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha and eventually became the state vice president of Uttar Pradesh.

In 1997, he was elected as a member of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council and was elected as president of the Legislative Council of Uttar Pradesh. He served as the first education minister of the then newly formed Uttarakhand.

He was elected as the state general secretary of Uttarakhand in 2007 and served as the state chief electoral officer and state membership chief later.m In 2012, he was elected as legislative assembly member (MLA) and in 2013 he became Uttarakhand BJP Chief.

As Uttarakhand BJP President, he won four mayoral posts in municipal corporations out of six. He was elected as Member of Parliament (MP) from Pauri Lokasabha Seat on 23 May 2019.

It would be interesting to see how he would head the BJP in the Uttarakhand election in February 2022, because Uttarakhand has a history that whenever there is a change in government, it brings a new Chief Minister. Trivedra Singh Rawat, though, worked as the longest-serving CM of Uttarakhand so far.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles